The Skill Development and Technical Education Department (erstwhile Employment & Technical Education & Training Department) was created vide G.A. Department Notification No. 24622 dt.19.12.2011. The Department is mandated for expansion of capacity, improvement of quality and facilitation of the underprivileged students to pursue the technical education through ITIs, Polytechnics, Engineering Colleges and employment of the youths in the emerging industrial scenario of the State. Skill Development Programme through a sustainable technical and vocational educational eco-system has become one of the flagship Schemes of the Govt. of Odisha with an overarching mission to bring transformative human development through skilling of youth and making Skilled-in-Odisha a global household Brand. It aims at sustained employability of trained youth and creating outstanding skilled workforce comparable to the best in the world. To foster and facilitate these objectives, the Skill Development &Technical Education Department endeavors to carry forward the responsibility of creating skilled workforce as one of the critical determinants for the overall economic development and wellbeing of the state.

Following Directorates/major establishments are running under this Department:

1.Directorate of Technical Education and Training 2.Odisha Skill Development Authority & Directorate of Employment 3.Technological Universities and Government Engineering Colleges 4.State Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training

Directorate of Technical Education & Training, Odisha, Cuttack:

The Directorate of Technical Education and Training, Odisha, Cuttack is responsible for implementation of various schemes and programmes for promotion of Technical Education and Training sector in the State. It has also the mandate for providing requisite technical manpower to support industrial growth process of the State.

Odisha Skill Development Authority & Directorate of Employment:

To bring convergence amongst skill development training programmes being implemented by various Departments in the State and to scale up skilling activities both in quantitative and qualitative terms, Government has created a unified Authority in the name of Odisha Skill Development Authority (OSDA) in 2016-17. Under Directorate of Employment, there are eighty (80) offices which include thirty Dist. Employment Exchanges, five Special Employment Exchanges, one State Employment Exchange(Professional & Executive), four University Employment Information and Guidance Bureaus, thirty three Employment Sub-Offices and seven Rural Employment Bureaus.

The Employment Exchanges operating in different parts of the State carry out Registration, Submission, Placement, Vocational Guidance, along with Collection and Compilation of Employment Market Information data, Interpretation of Statistical Data and Verification of records of establishments under the provisions of the Employment Exchanges Compulsory Notification of Vacancies Act,1959 and Rules, 1960

Technological Universities and Government Engineering Colleges:

There are two Government Technical Universities, i.e Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT), Rourkela and Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT), Burla and one Private Technical University, i.e. Gandhi Institute of Engineering & Technology (GIET) University, Gunpur functioning in the State. BPUT has got four Engineering Colleges, two IT/ Management Colleges as its constituent college. Apart from these, Indira Gandhi Institute of Technology, Sarang, an affiliated Government Engineering College of BPUT, is also functioning in the State. There are also 78 Private Engineering/Professional Colleges affiliated to BPUT.

State Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training:

State Council for Technical Education & Vocational Training is the examining and certifying body of Diploma & ITI colleges in the State. SCTE&VT conducts examination, evaluation &publication of results. The main mission of SCTE &VT is to promote quality & innovation in technical education & vocational training and upgrade the technical institutes into Centres of Excellence through industry driven course curriculum.There are 152 Diploma colleges & 637 ITIs under SCTE&VT.